The time I wondered about Chinese Lanterns

I was at my sister’s place in Malaysia 3 years back. It was my brother-in-law’s birthday, so his colleagues got him a cake. It was 3 layered chocolate cake with chocolate glaze and some fruits and macaroons on top. There were strawberry, blueberry, raspberry and a small round, yellow coloured fruit with golden embroidered petals enclosing the fruit. I was wondering what it was and was questioned to eat šŸ˜€ Then I thought what the hell, it’s on a cake and I ate it. Even after then, I was curious to know what it is. I did someĀ googling and found out thatĀ it was the famous Chinese lantern fruit.

Of late, I was going through the pictures from Malaysia and I thought why don’t I paint the Chinese Lanterns is how I got the idea to paint this. Again I browsed through internet for little more details of the fruit and decided to go with green, orange and yellow shades.Ā And here’s how it turned out.

A0518_02.jpg

And here’s the video of the speed painting Ā Speed Paint | Chinese lantern flowers | WatercolourĀ 

P.S., I am from India, this fruit is not common here. That is the only reason I am not aware of these fruits, I am not a stupid šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

